Homeschooling in Virginia
If you are just getting started homeschooling in Virginia, or you need a refresher on what is due when, we have compiled information from the Organization of Virginia Homeschoolers to help you out.
Homeschooling in Virginia is relatively easy, there are two requirements with due dates that you have to remember. For more information, click on the links below:
Notice of Intent – due August 15 each year.
Under the home instruction statute, parents must submit a notice of intent to homeschool each year. No matter which option you file under, the notice must be accompanied by a list of subjects to be covered for each child. The law in Virginia only requires that you notify the district superintendent of your intent to homeschool, you do not need approval. As long as you provide what is required by law, you cannot be rejected.
The curriculum description is now limited to a list of subjects you plan to have your child study in the coming school year. More detail is not necessary, and is not required by the new law that took effect in 2012. See the NOI letter above for an example of what is acceptable.
To help keep school district expectations in line with Virginia law, please:
- Only submit a high school degree, even if you have a college degree. You can make copies to keep in a folder so they are ready to attach each year, or state in your notice that a copy of your degree is on file with the district.
- List only the ages of your children, not their birth dates or what grade they might be in if they attended public school.
- Only submit proof of progress if your child was 6 or older on September 30th of the prior year.
- List only subjects to be covered, not specific materials to be used.
- The NOI and proof of progress can be submitted in the same package – just remember to submit well before the August 1st deadline for proof of progress to enjoy a stress-free summer!
Proof of Progress – due August 1 each year.
As “evidence of progress” at the end of the school year parents may either submit:
- (i) A composite score in or above the fourth stanine on any nationally normed standardized achievement test.
- (ii) An evaluation or assessment which the division superintendent determines to indicate that the child is achieving an adequate level of educational growth and progress, including but not limited to: (a) an evaluation letter from a person licensed to teach in any state, or a person with a master’s degree or higher in an academic discipline, having knowledge of the child’s academic progress, stating that the child is achieving an adequate level of educational growth and progress; or (b) a report card or transcript from a community college or college, college distance learning program, or home-education correspondence schooll.
The following do not have to provide evidence of progress:
- Children under the age of 6 as of September 30th.
- Children older than 18 as of September 30th.
- Children 16 years or older as of September 30th who have graduated and/or taken the GED.
- Children whose parents are complying with the Compulsory Attendance Code by using the Approved Tutor Provision.
- Children who are exempt from the Compulsory Attendance Code due to a Religious Exemption.
You can order the TerraNova / CAT6 test through the Seton Testing site. It is $40 and can be administered at any time. There are other sites that also offer the CAT and other standardized tests - and it can be administered online. Many of us test early to ensure we get the results before things get busy at the end of the school year. This also gives you time to retest if necessary.
Last updated 01 May 2015: JCF.
Cat Tests. Seton Testing Services. Web. 01 May2015.
VA Homeschoolers: The Organization of Virginia Homeschoolers. Web. 01 May 2015.
Virginia Public School Division Staff. Virginia Department of Education. Web. 15 Nov 2013.